Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Press Release

Constituent American



Contact: Phone: E-mail: Website: Attachments: Kristi Burmeister, MSO Executive Director 636-745-3008 association.info@icloud.com <u>www.msortho.org</u> Photo - Dr. Spencer Pope (2023 - 2024 president) Photo - Dr. Brian Jesperson (2023 award recipient)

Association of Orthodontists

MSO Announces 2023 - 2024 Board and Recognizes Award Winner

The following new officers were installed to serve the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) members for the 2023 - 2024 terms: Dr. **Spencer Pope** of Flossmoor, Illinois as president; Dr. **Michael LaFerla** of Joplin, Missouri as president-elect; and Dr. **Emily Willett** of Lincoln, Nebraska as secretary-treasurer. **Dr. Mike Durbin** of Des Plaines, Illinois continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board.

Dr. Sumit Yadav of Lincoln, Nebraska joins the Board as the new Nebraska director following Dr. Willett's election to secretary-treasurer. Also continuing to serve their respective component organization on the MSO Board as directors are: Drs. Bronwen Richards of Rock Island, Illinois; Melissa Bernhardt of West Des Moines, Iowa; Carolina Frota of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Estee Wang of Maplewood, Minnesota; John Firth of St. Louis, Missouri; Emerson Ehlis of Fargo, North Dakota; Keri Barrow of Sioux Falls, South Dakota; and John Kittleson of Mequon, Wisconsin.

Dr. **Nellie Kim-Weroha** of Rochester, Minnesota completed her term as president during MSO's 2023 Annual Session held October 13 – 14 at the Hilton Rochester Mayo Clinic Area in Minnesota as the first combined meeting with the Rocky Mountain Association of Orthodontists (RMSO).

MSO's 2023 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dr. **Brian Jesperson** of Bismarck, North Dakota. In addition to being involved in his church and community, he has served as an MSO past president, delegate to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) House, and MSO representative to an AAO council. This award was created in honor of Dr. Earl E. Shepard to recognize orthodontists for outstanding service to orthodontics and their community.

MSO represents nearly 1,480 members in Illinois, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. The Midwestern Society of Orthodontists is an AAO constituent that supports the mission of the AAO by providing resources, communication and leadership, while serving as a voice for its component societies and individual members.

The 2024 MSO Annual Session will be held with separate doctor and staff team lecture tracks on October 25-26 at the Loews Chicago O'Hare Hotel in Rosemont, Illinois.

For additional information, go to <u>www.msortho.org</u> or contact the MSO office by e-mail <u>association.info@icloud.com</u> or phone at 636-745-3008.