## Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2022 MSO/SAO/SWSO Annual Session Highlights

November 3-5 • Austin, Texas

- 1) Energetic, entertaining, and epic...the best way to describe this memorable three-constituent Annual Session with over 1,400 doctors, team members, and exhibitors having boots on the ground November 3 5 in Austin, Texas. In addition to a wide variety of engaging educational sessions, optional activities to "Keep Austin Weird" included the huge Ranch Party, goat yoga, scavenger hunt, tacos and transition resident-member mixer, and football watch party.
- 2) The exhibit hall featured 100 vendors, LIVE music (after all, Austin is the Live Music Capitol), hosted food and beverage, and lots of interaction with members attending from MSO, Southern Association of Orthodontists (SAO), and Southwestern Society of Orthodontists (SWSO).
- 3) Hats off to Dr. Mark Dake for his outstanding leadership as 2021 2022 MSO President. The following new officers were installed to serve MSO members for the 2022 2023 term: Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha of Rochester, Minnesota as president; Dr. Spencer Pope of Flossmoor, Illinois as president-elect; and Dr. Daniel Keith of Bismarck, North Dakota as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois continues as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board.
- 4) Dr. Emerson Ehlis of Fargo, North Dakota joins the Board as the new North Dakota director following Dr. Keith's election to secretary-treasurer. Also continuing to serve their respective component organization on the MSO Board as directors are: Drs. Bronwen Richards of Rock Island, Illinois; Melissa Bernhardt of West Des Moines, Iowa; Fabio Pinheiro of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Estee Wang of Maplewood, Minnesota; Michael LaFerla of Joplin, Missouri; Emily Willett of Lincoln, Nebraska; Keri Barrow of Sioux Falls, South Dakota; and Mike Maslowski of Oshkosh, Wisconsin.
- 5) Elected to serve as MSO's delegates to the AAO 2023 House are Drs. Nellie Kim-Weroha Chair, Daniel Keith Vice Chair, Keri Barrow, Deborah Lien, Spencer Pope, Estee Wang, and Emily Willett. Alternates are Drs. Mark Dake, Ali Fallgatter and Dennis Sommers.
- 6) MSO's 2022 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented at the Annual Member Business Meeting to Dr. **Tom Stark** of Ames, Iowa. Dr. **Brian Jesperson** of Bismarck, North Dakota has been named to receive the 2023 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award.
- 7) Dr. Randall Markarian received an appreciation plaque for his service as MSO representative on the Council on Orthodontic Benefits and Illinois director to the MSO Board prior to being elected as the American Dental Association Trustee from the 8th District of Illlinois. Dr. Jackie Miller was also recognized for her service representing MSO on the Council on Communication prior to being named the Missouri State Dental Director.
- 8) MSO members approved the 2023 budget and proposed bylaw amendments to update MSO's committee structure. Drs. Steve Litton and Clayton Parks were thanked for their service on the Communications and Membership standing committees that were sunset. The MSO Annual Sessions Committee was changed to be a standing committee for long-term planning.
- 9) MSO has a strong representation of component and emerging leaders registered to participate in the AAO Leadership Development Conference January 26 in Las Vegas before the AAO Winter Conference. Contact Michelle Ritterskamp at AAO for additional information.
- **10)** Save the dates of October 13 14, 2023 to join members of the MSO and Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists (RMSO) at the Hilton Mayo Clinic Area in Rochester, Minnesota.