Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Press Release

Constituent American



Contact: Phone: E-mail: Website: Attachments:

Kristi Burmeister, MSO Executive Director 636-745-3008 association.info@icloud.com <u>www.msortho.org</u> Photo - Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha (2022 – 2023 president) Photo - Dr. Tom Stark (2022 award recipient)

Association of Orthodontists

MSO Announces 2022 - 2023 Board and Recognizes Award Winner

The following new officers were installed to serve the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) members in for the 2022 – 2023 terms: Dr. **Nellie Kim-Weroha** of Rochester, Minnesota as president; Dr. **Spencer Pope** of Flossmoor, Illinois as president-elect; and Dr. **Daniel Keith** of Bismarck, North Dakota as secretary-treasurer. **Dr. Mike Durbin** of Des Plaines, Illinois continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board.

Dr. Emerson Ehlis of Fargo, North Dakota joins the Board as the new North Dakota director following Dr. Keith's election to secretary-treasurer. Also continuing to serve their respective component organization on the MSO Board as directors are: Drs. Bronwen Richards of Rock Island, Illinois; Melissa Bernhardt of West Des Moines, Iowa; Fabio Pinheiro of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Estee Wang of Maplewood, Minnesota; Michael LaFerla of Joplin, Missouri; Emily Willett of Lincoln, Nebraska; Keri Barrow of Sioux Falls, South Dakota; and Mike Maslowski of Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

Dr. **Mark Dake** of West Plains, Missouri completed his term as president during MSO's 2022 Annual Session held November 3 – 5 at the Hilton Austin as a combined meeting with Southern Association of Orthodontists (SAO) and Southwestern Society of Orthodontists (SWSO).

MSO's 2022 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dr. **Thomas M. Stark** of Ames, Iowa. In addition to being very involved in his church and community, he has served as an MSO past president, delegate to the AAO House, MSO council representative, and leader on numerous committees. This award was created in honor of Dr. Earl E. Shepard to recognize orthodontists for outstanding service to orthodontics and their community.

MSO represents more than 1,470 members in Illinois, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. The Midwestern Society of Orthodontists is an AAO constituent that supports the mission of the AAO by providing resources, communication and leadership, while serving as a voice for its component societies and individual members.

MSO will have a combined meeting with the Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists (RMSO) October 13 - 14, 2023 at the Hilton in the Mayo Clinic Area of Rochester, Minnesota.

For additional information, go to <u>www.msortho.org</u> or contact the MSO office by e-mail <u>association.info@icloud.com</u> or phone at 636-745-3008.