Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2022 AAO House of Delegates Highlights for MSO vs 5.25.2022

- 1) Thanks to these Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) delegates for successfully representing MSO members during the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) House of Delegates (HOD) held May 20 23 in Miami Beach, Florida: Drs. Ali Fallgatter Chair; Nellie Kim-Weroha Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Daniel Keith, Deb Lien, Dennis Sommers, Emily Willett and alternates Keri Barrow, Randall Markarian, and Estee Wang. MSO recognized Dr. Fallgatter's leadership as she concludes her three-year term as the delegation chair.
- **2) Dr. Kim-Weroha** served on Reference Committee 1 and **Dr. Fallgatter** as chair of Reference Committee 2.
- **3) Dr. Lauren Pass** of Illinois was recognized by the House of Delegates to begin service representing AAO as a new At Large Trustee on the AAO Board of Trustees.
- **4)** AAO announced at the House that MSO's nominee **Dr. John Kanyusik** of Minnesota will receive the 2023 AAO James E. Brophy AAO Distinguished Service Award at next year's AAO Annual Session in Chicago.
- **5) Dr. Kim-Weroha** was recognized for her service on the 2022 AAO Annual Session Planning Committee. She also serves on AAO's CCon (AAO Committee on Conferences and Meetings) along with **Dr. Daniel Keith** to strategically implement all future AAO meetings. AAO announced that as of Monday, there were 4,742 doctors and 11,798 total registered for the in-person meeting, plus 1,802 doctors and 2,007 total for the virtual format.
- **6)** MSO Trustee **Dr. Mike Durbin** was thanked in the AAO President-Elect's address for his continued service as the chair of the AAO Covid-19 Task Force.
- 7) The House shortened the total term of service to nine years on the AAO Board of Trustees by having the President-Elect also serve simultaneously as the constituent Trustee. AAO leaders are encouraged to take an AAO recommended Implicit Bias Training course that AAO will make available to all members. A Special Committee on Constituent Collaboration was developed.
- 8) The AAO House of Delegates (HOD) increased AAO dues by 3% to be billed at \$817 for U.S. active members. The FY22-23 Consumer Awareness Program (CAP) budget of \$5 million will be funded by a \$500 per member assessment for all US and Canadian Active members (active academic members excluded) with the balance drawn from excess liquid reserves.
- 9) MSO had a trifecta with award winners at the ABO reception: **Dr. Rolf Behrents** Albert H. Ketcham memorial Award, **Dr. Carla Evans** Dale B. Wade Award of Excellence in Orthodontics, **Dr. John Kanyusik** O.B. Vaughan Special Recognition Award.
- 10) Watch for registration and housing information coming soon from the Southern Association of Orthodontists (SAO) office for the 2022 MSO/SAO/SWSO Annual Session to be held November 3 5. Dr. Tom Stark of Iowa will be receiving the MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award at this meeting to be held at the Hilton in downtown Austin.