## Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2022 MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting Highlights vs. 3.19.22

- MSO officers, directors and delegates gathered at the MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting held March 4 at the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) headquarters in St. Louis. MSO President Dr. Mark Dake successfully led the one-day meeting with a hybrid virtual and in-person format.
- 2) MSO's Delegation Chair **Dr. Ali Fallgatter** noted the AAO Constituent Reorganization Task Force's success in encouraging constituents to have direct conversations. As a result, the Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists will join MSO in a combined 2023 Annual Session in Minnesota.
- 3) MSO Board and Delegation members reviewed available AAO resolutions. Delegates representing MSO at the AAO 2022 AAO House of Delegates in Miami Beach are: Drs. Ali Fallgatter Chair, Nellie Kim-Weroha Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Daniel Keith, Deb Lien, Dennis Sommers, and Emily Willett. Alternates are: Keri Barrow, Randall Markarian, and Estee Wang. AAO is posting resolutions May 6 for member comment online until May 18.
- 4) The Nominating Committee's motion was approved to submit these officers for election by the members at the 2022 MSO Annual Member Business Meeting during the November SAO/SWSO/MSO Annual Session in Austin: Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha president, Dr. Spencer Pope president-elect, and Dr. Daniel Keith secretary-treasurer.
- 5) The Board approved recommending bylaw changes at the fall MSO Annual Member Business Meeting to sunset the MSO Membership and Communications Committees and move the Annual Sessions Committee from a Board to a Standing Committee. Current directors are already performing the Membership and Communications Committee duties. Transferring the Annual Sessions Committee to a Standing Committee allows non-board members with an interest/experience to serve and provide continuity in long-term MSO Annual Session planning.
- 6) An ABO Director Selection Task Force with Drs. Jim Klarsch, Scott Arbit, and Jackie Miller was formed to provide the MSO Board 3 5 qualified nominees to fill the MSO director vacancy when Dr. Pat Foley completes his term May 2023 on the ABO Board. The MSO Board's approved nominee CVs will be forwarded to the ABO for their consideration to interview February 2023. Members may submit their interest and CV by August 1 to <<u>Dr.JKlarsch@gmail.com</u>>.
- 7) Current MSO representative terms expire in 2023 on these AAO Councils: Communication; Orthodontic Healthcare; Scientific Affairs; and Membership, Ethics, and Judicial Concerns. If you are interested in these MSO Council rep positions, please send your CV by August 1 to the MSO incoming Nominating Committee Chair **Dr. Spencer Pope** <<u>dspopeortho@gmail.com</u>.
- 8) Component directors were thanked for helping MSO have the highest participation at the AAO Leadership Development Conference in Orlando recently. MSO leaders attending included Drs. Keri Barrow, Todd Connell, Mohammad Elnagar, John Firth, Justin Firth, Libby Graham, Kevin Kaiser, Peter Longo, Spencer Pope, Chad Rasmussen, Anne Bronwen Richards, Greg Ross, Lauren Pass, Rachel Stiles, Meenakshi Vishwanath, and Emily Willett.
- 9) Dr. Mike Durbin was announced to be the first recipient of the new AAOF Ray George Memorial Award recognizing Donated Orthodontic Services (DOS) volunteers. Dr. Tom Southard will be presented the AAOF Jarabak Award at the 2022 AAO Annual Session.
- 10) The Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award Committee's nomination of Dr. Brian
  Jesperson was unanimously approved for 2023. The 2022 MSO Distinguished Service Award
  will be presented to Dr. Tom Stark at the combined SAO/SWSO/MSO Annual Session November
  3 5 in Austin. Save the date and watch for registration/housing opening with SAO in May.