Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2021 MSO Annual Session Highlights

October 1 - 2 • Hyatt Regency Milwaukee, Wisconsin

- MSO welcomed back 234 doctors, staff team members, and exhibitors to the 2021 Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) Annual Session as the first in-person meeting held since the pandemic. Dr. Scott Arbit served as president at the event held in his hometown of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
- 2) Hats off to the meeting's General Chair Dr. Daniel Keith and Staff Program Chair Dr. Jane Wright for putting together an outstanding program featuring speakers: Drs. Matthew Larson, Russ Kittleson, Neal Kravitz, Ed Lin, and Brent Larson, as well as Michelle Shimmin.
- 3) The following new officers were installed to serve MSO members in 2021 2022: Dr. Mark Dake of West Plains, Missouri as president; Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha of Rochester, Minnesota as president-elect; and Dr. Spencer Pope of Flossmoor, Illinois as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board. Dr. Randall Markarian of Swansea, Illinois joins the Board as a new director.
- 4) Dr. Deborah Lien of Rochester, Minnesota was presented the 2021 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award by her mentor Dr. Arnie Hill. In addition to being very involved in her community, she currently serves as an MSO delegate to the AAO House and representative to the AAO Political Action Committee. She is an MSO past president and earlier also served on the AAO Council of Governmental Affairs.
- 5) These MSO leaders were elected to represent MSO at the AAO 2022 House of Delegates: Drs. Ali Fallgatter - Chair, Nellie Kim-Weroha - Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Daniel Keith, Deborah Lien, Spencer Pope, and Emily Willett. Alternates are Drs. Keri Barrow, Randall Markarian, and Dennis Sommers.
- 6) Dr. Daniel Keith was presented an appreciation plaque for service as the MSO representative to the Council on New & Younger Members. Dr. Ali Fallgatter was called to the podium to receive her presidential gavel in-person since the 2020 MSO Annual Session originally planned during her presidential term was held virtually due to COVID. Dr. Steve Litton received a round of applause for his continued volunteer leadership on the MSO Web site as Communications Chair. Members approved the 2022 budget.
- 7) MSO encourages components to send their president-elect or representative to attend the AAO Leadership Development Conference to be held January 27 in conjunction with the AAO Winter Conference in Orlando, Florida. Drs. Spencer Pope, Keri Barrow, Anne Bronwen Richards, and Minnie Vishwantha have been invited to attend as MSO representatives.
- 8) The MSO Board requested MSO officers **Drs. Nellie Kim-Weroha** and **Spencer Pope** to evaluate all current committees and bring back a task force report to the March 4, 2022 Ad Interim to be held in-person in St. Louis.
- 9) **Dr. Tom Stark** of Ames, Iowa will receive the MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award at the 2022 MSO Annual Session.
- **10)** Save the dates of November 3- 5 to bring your team to the combined 2022 MSO/SAO/SWSO Annual Session to be held at the Hilton Downtown in Austin, Texas. Watch for registration materials to be available early summer from SAO as the managing host constituent.