Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2018 MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting Highlights

March 9 • St. Louis, MO vs. 3/13/18

- 1) MSO leaders teamed up to utilize their leadership skills to make significant contributions to the health of the public during the MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting held March 9 at the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) headquarters building in St. Louis. Refer to photos on the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) Facebook page for attendees.
- 2) MSO President Dr. Ryan VanLaecken brought home a winner with thought-provoking MSO leader team dialogue, meet and greets with the new AAO Executive Director Lynne Thomas Gordon and newly-hired future AAOF Executive Director Jackie Bode, and insightful presentations by AAO staff. The one-day Board meeting concluded with a presentation on ABO certification changes and tour of the ABO headquarters by MSO's ABO Director Dr. Pat Foley and ABO Executive Director Carole Newport.
- 3) MSO's COC representative **Dr. Jackie Miller** outlined stats on the AAO Consumer Awareness Program with website visits up 6,100%, AAO consumer Facebook likes increased 2,000% and AAO ads in over 4.2 million searches. Assessment funding for the CAP will be considered at the 2018 AAO House.
- 4) VanLaecken incorporated American trivia, a red/white/blue cookie contest and old-time treats into the Ad Interim Board Meeting to motivate leaders to encourage colleagues to bring their team to the MSO Annual Session at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Minnesota September 21-22. Go to www.msortho.org for information or watch for registration materials forthcoming late spring.
- 5) Several MSO components are taking advantage of the AAO component legal fund matching program and utilizing AAO's legal department resources for assistance with specialty recognition at the state level. AAO's **Kevin Dillard** encouraged members to attend the AAO Professional Advocacy Conference at the end of the AAO Annual Session while a few spots are still available. AAOF is sponsoring the AAO legal course as a member outreach to residents. Leaders connected to orthodontic residency programs that have not had the presentation yet are encouraged to assist in getting one scheduled.
- 6) The MSO Annual Member Business Meeting held September 22 in conjunction with the 2018 MSO Annual Session will seek member's input on proposed bylaws changes, election of officers and a 2019 budget to be posted mid-summer on the MSO website. A highlight will be the 2018 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award presentation to Dr. Jim Klarsch of Missouri. In addition to teaching at St. Louis University and community leadership, he has been instrumental in the success of the AAO Consumer Awareness Program as MSO's previous COC representative, serves as the "ask the orthodontist" on the AAO website and was the 2006 MSO president.
- 7) The Nominating Committee's motion was approved to submit these officers for election at the 2018 MSO Annual Member Business Meeting: Dr. Kevin Denis as president, Dr. Ali Fallgatter as president-elect and Dr. Scott Arbit as secretary-treasurer. Leaders committed to move up the ladder, pending member election, include Dr. John Kharouf (2022), Dr. Mark Dake (2023) and Dr. Spencer Pope (2024).
- 8) The Board unanimously supported the MSO Shepard Award Committee's recommendation to present the 2019 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award to **Dr. Jim Osborne**, Clinical Director in the Advanced Education of Orthodontic & Dentofacial Orthopedics at UMKC School of Dentistry. In addition to leadership in organized dentistry and other community organizations, he was president of the Missouri Society of Orthodontists from 1982 -1983 and MSO from 1998-1999. He served numerous years as the MSO newsletter editor, as an MSO delegate to the AAO House and as MSO's COC representative leading the development of the AAO Consumer Awareness Program.
- 9) MSO members are encouraged to attend the AAO Awards Luncheon on Sunday at the AAO Annual Session in Washington D.C. to congratulate MSO's **Dr. Brent Larson** receiving the 2018 AAOF Louise Ada Jarabak Memorial International Teachers and Research Award and **Dr. Steve Litton** receiving the 2018 James E. Brophy AAO Distinguished Service Award.
- 10) MSO Board and Delegation members reviewed proposed AAO resolutions as currently available to members on the AAO website: https://www.aaoinfo.org/about/governance/house-delegates. These delegates and alternate delegates will represent the MSO at the AAO 2018 House of Delegates: Drs. Spencer Pope Chair, Ali Fallgatter Vice Chair, Ross Crist, Mark Dake, Ara Goshgarian, Nellie Kim-Weroha, Daniel Keith, Deb Lien, Jackie Miller, Dennis Sommers, and Kim Stafford. Please let them know your thoughts!