## Minnesota

Heather Carr, President
Cheryl Cermin, President-elect
James Haack, Vice President
Heather Horton, Secretary/Treasurer

The MAO Fall meeting was a success. It was held on September 22, 2017 at the Edina Country Club, Edina, Minnesota. The speaker was Dr. **Mike Lanzetta** who gave us some helpful insights on Invisalign treatment in his office.

The MAO Annual Winter Meeting will be on Friday, January 5, 2018, at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center Hotel. The speaker for the doctor session will be from Vanderbilt University, Dr. **Harry Legan**, speaking on orthodontics and obstructive sleep apnea. The staff program speaker for the morning session will be **Chuck Hill** from 3M on bonding technique and materials and the afternoon speaker is yet TBD.

The MAO Executive Board meets year-round to continue planning for meetings and addressing critical issues that affect our fellow members. Be sure to check our website, <a href="mnortho.org">mnortho.org</a> for membership information and updates on events and news. We thank Dr. **David Resch** for his time in developing and maintaining the website.

The MAO was approved for the AAO CAP matching fund in September 2017. The board hired Minneapolis-based marketing firm, Ainsley Shea for local marketing media coverage and will utilize **Katie Maassen** from the AAO for all digital and social media marketing. Marketing to consumers began in late October 2017.

Dr. **Brent Larson** is currently serving as AAO President-Elect. He will be elected AAO President at the AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. next spring. We are thankful for all his efforts in serving our profession at the state, regional and national levels.

Two Minnesota orthodontists will be receiving awards at the next AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. We were excited to learn our own Dr. **Steve Litton** will be the recipient of the James E. Brophy Distinguished Service Award from the AAO and Dr. **Brent Larson** will receive the Louise Ada Jarabak Memorial International Teachers and Research Award from the AAOF. Please join us in congratulating them!

We would like to thank Dr. **Deb Lien** for serving on the AAO Council of Governmental Affairs and for providing her talents to support the AAOPAC for Minnesota. For our state, Deb currently serves on MAO Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee along with Drs. **Donna Stenberg** and **Heather Horton**. They have done an outstanding job on behalf of MAO tirelessly meeting with the Minnesota Board of Dentistry to approve changes for Licensed Dental Assistants expanded functions and permitted duties. We encourage our members to attend the Minnesota Board of Dentistry meetings, especially with the latest discussion about certain professionals requesting specialty

recognition. The AAO legal counsel has been working with our state to help oversee the events at the dental board meetings.

MAO is proud to co-sponsor the MSO Annual Session in Bloomington at the Radisson Blu Hotel at the Mall of America. Our current MSO President, Dr. **Ryan Van Lacken** from South Dakota, along with **Kristi Burmeister** and the Planning Committee have organized a wonderful meeting. We hope you will consider joining us and bring your team to learn and mingle with colleagues at the meeting!

Please join us in congratulating our own, Dr. **Kevin Denis**, who has taken on the role as MSO President-Elect at the MSO Annual Session in New Orleans! We are looking forward to his leadership as MSO President in 2019.

Nellie Kim-Weroha nkimdds@gmail.com 507/288-4427 Fax 507/288-8947