## Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2017 MSO Annual Session Highlights

September 14 - 17 · Roosevelt Waldorf Astoria · New Orleans, LA

- 1) Nearly 500 doctors, staff, exhibitors, family and friends enjoyed the camaraderie of a three-way constituent meeting at the Great Lakes Association of Orthodontists (GLAO), Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) and Southwestern Society of Orthodontists (SWSO) 2017 Annual Session September 14 17 at the Roosevelt Waldorf Astoria in New Orleans.
- 2) MSO was honored to have American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Secretary-Treasurer Dr. **Gary Inman** address members at the MSO Member Business Meeting September 16. MSO members approved the 2018 MSO Budget and amended the bylaws to be in compliance with membership changes made at the 2017 AAO House of Delegates. Components are encouraged to ensure their bylaws are up-to-date as well.
- 3) MSO colleagues dressed in tropical attire to honor Dr. **Dennis Sommers** of Minot, North Dakota as he received the 2017 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award. He has served as president of the North Dakota Dental Association and North Dakota Society of Orthodontists, on the MSO Board of Directors, as MSO's representative to the AAO Council on Membership, Ethics and Judicial Concerns and in both the AAO and American Dental Association House of Delegates.
- 4) The following new officers were installed to serve MSO members in 2017 2018: Drs. Ryan VanLaecken of Watertown, South Dakota as president; Kevin Denis of Lindstrom, Minnesota as president-elect and Alison Fallgatter of Jamestown, North Dakota as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois serves as an officer and MSO Trustee to the AAO Board. Dr. Daniel Keith of Bismarck, North Dakota joins the MSO Board as a new director as Dr. Fallgatter moves up to serve as an MSO officer.
- 5) These members were elected to represent MSO at the AAO 2017 House of Delegates: Drs. Spencer Pope Chair, Ali Fallgatter Vice Chair, Ara Goshgarian, Daniel Keith, Deb Lien, Jackie Miller and Dennis Sommers. Alternates are Drs. Ross Crist, Mark Dake, Nellie Kim-Weroha and Kim Stafford.
- 6) MSO appreciation plaques were given to these members representing MSO on AAO Councils at the completion of their term of service: Drs. Dennis Sommers Council on Membership, Ethics and Judicial Concerns (COMJEC), Mike Durbin Council on Orthodontic Healthcare (COHC), Jim Klarsch Council on Communications (COC), Jeffrey Nickel Council on Scientific Affairs (COSA) and William Wiltshire Council on Orthodontic Education (COE).
- 7) MSO encourages components to select one representative to attend the AAO leadership development event February 8 held in conjunction with the 2018 AAO Winter Conference in Arizona. Members are also encouraged to plan ahead to participate in the Political Advocacy Conference to be held May 8 9 directly after the 2018 AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. Watch for information coming soon from the AAO on both leadership opportunities, or contact jsutter@aaortho.org.
- 8) There are 170 followers on the MSO Facebook page. If you are not one of them, please "like" the Midwestern Society page to keep up with the latest professional news and activities of your colleagues. MSO member accomplishments and photos may be emailed to: <a href="mailto:association.info@icloud.com">association.info@icloud.com</a> for posting.
- 9) MSO's Board of Directors approved to donate \$5,000 to the AAO Disaster Relief Fund. Call 800-424-2841 or go to the <u>AAO website</u> to make your donation to help members with practices impacted by recent hurricanes and flooding.
- 10) Dr. Jim Klarsch of Town and Country, Missouri will be presented the 2018 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award at the 2018 MSO Annual Session to be held September 21 22 at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota. Doctors are encouraged to bring their team. Go to www.msortho.org for additional information on the meeting.