## Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2017 MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting Highlights

March 10 • St. Louis, MO vs. 3/18/17

- 1) Twenty MSO officers, directors and delegates teamed up to utilize their leadership skills to make significant contributions to the health of the public during the MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting held March 10 at the American Association of Orthodontists headquarters building in St. Louis. The group welcomed **Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha** to her first meeting serving as the new director from Minnesota.
- 2) MSO President Dr. Ginny Mennemeyer pulled off a "hat trick" running an efficient meeting that included insightful presentations by AAO staff members, incorporating a fun St. Louis Blues hockey theme for activities and building excitement for the upcoming three-way constituent GLAO/MSO/SWSO Annual Session in New Orleans September 14 17. Go to <a href="https://www.msortho.org">www.msortho.org</a> for information or watch for registration materials to be forthcoming late spring from SWSO as the host of the meeting.
- 3) Dr. Brent Larson was recognized for his MSO team leadership as he concludes his final Trustee report. MSO's AAOF representative Dr. Ross Crist recognized Dr. Larson as the newly announced 2018 AAOF Louise Ada Jarabak Memorial International Teachers and Research Award recipient. Dr. Mike Durbin will take the lead as the new MSO Trustee after installation at the 2017 AAO Annual Session.
- 4) MSO's current Council on Communications representative Dr. Jim Klarsch huddled with AAO staff for a powerful presentation on the new direction of the Consumer Awareness Program. MSO has the largest percentage of components from a constituent participating in the AAO Consumer Awareness Program component match program. Illinois, Missouri and Wisconsin already have commitments for the program's matching funds and Minnesota is in the process of finalizing plans to also participate.
- 5) The following Council representative changes were announced as current representatives' terms expire at the 2017 AAO Annual Session: Dr. Jackie Miller will replace Dr. Jim Klarsch on the Council on Communication, Dr. Randall Markarian will replace Dr. Mike Durbin on the Council on Orthodontic Health Care, Dr. Scott Arbit will replace Dr. Dennis Sommers on the Council on Membership, Ethics and Judicial Concerns, Dr. Fred Regennitter will replace Dr. William Wiltshire on the Council on Orthodontic Education and Dr. Steve Marshall will replace Dr. Jeffrey Nickel on Council on Scientific Affairs.
- 6) Dr. Daniel Keith enthusiastically provided an update on Council on New and Younger Members (CONYM) activities. He recently moderated a Town Hall Meeting at the AAO Winter Conference and has been nominated to serve as CONYM chair. Dr. Spencer Pope highlighted Council on Orthodontic Practice highlights, including being named to serve as COOP chair. Dr. Deb Lien noted in her Council on Government Affairs report that Minnesota has utilized the AAO component legal support fund and encourages other components to reach out to AAO if assistance is needed. In addition to the above, Dr. Mike Durbin (COHC) and Dr. Dennis Sommers (COMJEC) were at the meeting to provide reports from their respective Councils with a hearty thanks from attendees for their service as their terms conclude.
- 7) The MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Dr. Dennis Sommers during the MSO Annual Member Business Meeting in New Orleans September 16. While Dr. Jim Klarsch, the AAO's behind-the-scenes online "Ask the Orthodontist" expert, was receiving a round of applause for his leadership on the COC at the meeting, the MSO Shepard Award Committee surprised him with the announcement he will be the 2018 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award recipient.
- 8) Motions from the Budget and Finance Committee were approved to realign the equity potion of the mutual funds, add \$2,000 to the Special Events reserve fund, amend the Investment Policy to clarify that investment-grade bond funds are acceptable for the portfolio and increase the Educators Travel Grant to \$350 for one designated representative per orthodontic program in MSO attending the COE meeting at the MSO Annual Session. The Board approved to pursue going to Milwaukee for the 2021 MSO Annual Session. The MSO Strategic Plan was reviewed to ensure the MSO continues meeting member needs.
- 9) The Nominating Committee's motion was approved to submit these officers for election by the members at the 2017 MSO Annual Member Business Meeting September 16 in New Orleans: **Dr. Ryan VanLaecken** as president, **Dr. Kevin Denis** as president-elect and **Dr. Ali Fallgatter** as secretary-treasurer.
- 10) MSO Board and Delegation members reviewed proposed American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) resolutions and potential MSO resolutions for submission. These delegates and alternate delegates will represent the MSO at the AAO 2017 House of Delegates in San Diego: Drs. Spencer Pope Chair, Ali Fallgatter Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Ara Goshgarian, Deb Lien, Ginny Mennemeyer, Dennis Sommers, Ross Crist, Daniel Keith, Jim Klarsch and Kim Stafford. Please let them know your thoughts!