Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2023 MSO-RMSO Annual Session Highlights

October 13-14 • Rochester, Minnesota

- 1) The first combined constituent meeting with the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) and Rocky Mountain Society of Orthodontists (RMSO) treated over 180 total attendees to a unique program to help attending doctors and staff *Discover Wellness Beyond Healthy Smiles* for their patients.
- 2) The exhibit hall featured a variety of the latest products and services with an opportunity to connect in-person with area representatives of 39 vendors. In addition to the complimentary breakfasts, lunches, breaks, and an exhibitor reception served in the exhibit area, a highlight was the Welcoming Desserts Reception featuring music provided by MSO members Drs. John Crawford and Paul Hermanson in the heart of the nearby Mayo Clinic downtown campus.
- **3)** Dr. **Nellie Kim-Weroha** led the meeting as current president with Dr. **Deborah Lien** serving as the general meeting chair, both from Rochester, Minnesota. RMSO president Dr. Kristen Lowe and committee member Dr. John DuRussel filled out the co-constituent committee.
- 4) The following new officers were elected to serve MSO members for the 2023 2024 term: Dr. Spencer Pope of Flossmoor, Illinois as president; Dr. Michael LaFerla of Joplin, Missouri as president-elect; and Dr. Emily Willett of Lincoln, Nebraska as secretarytreasurer. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois continues as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board.
- 5) Dr. Sumit Yadav of Lincoln, Nebraska joins the Board as the new Nebraska director following Dr. Willett's election to secretary-treasurer. Also continuing to serve their respective component organization on the MSO Board as directors are: Drs. Bronwen Richards of Rock Island, Illinois; Melissa Bernhardt of West Des Moines, Iowa; Carolina Frota of Winnipeg, Manitoba; Estee Wang of Maplewood, Minnesota; John Firth of St. Louis, Missouri; Emerson Ehlis of North Dakota; Keri Barrow of Sioux Falls, South Dakota; and John Kittleson of Mequon, Wisconsin.
- 6) Elected to serve as MSO's delegates and alternates to the AAO 2024 House include Drs. Nellie Kim-Weroha - Chair, Emily Willett - Vice Chair, Deborah Lien, Spencer Pope, Jahnavi Rao, Bronwen Richards, Dennis Sommers, and Estee Wang.
- 7) MSO's 2023 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented at the Annual Member Business Meeting to Dr. Brian Jesperson of Bismarck, North Dakota. Dr. Pat Foley of St. Louis, Missouri has been named to receive the 2024 award at next year's meeting in Rosemont, Illinois.
- 8) These MSO members were recognized at the MSO Annual Member Business Meeting for their service with plaques mailed in advance: Drs. Daniel Keith and Fabio Pinheiro in appreciation of their prior service on the MSO Board, and Steve Marshall for his service representing MSO on the Council on Scientific Affairs. AAO CEO Lynne Thomas Gordon was presented a framed photo taken by Dr. Dennis Sommers in recognition of her upcoming retirement.
- **9)** MSO members approved the 2024 budget and bylaw amendment for a full active member \$10 dues increase starting with the 2024 2025 AAO dues billing cycle.
- **10)** Members were encouraged to save the dates of October 25-26, 2024 to bring their staff team to the next MSO Annual Session to be held at the Loews Chicago O'Hare in the Rosemont, Illinois entertainment district.