MSO BOARD COMMITTEE --- Nominating --- 2021 Annual Session vs. 9.7.2021

Mark Dake - CHR, Scott Arbit (Pres.), Melissa Bernhardt, Fabio Pinheiro, Mike Maslowski

*Terms begin after members approve at 2021 MSO Member Annual Business Meeting.

2021 - 2022 Officers

President Mark Dake

President - Elect Nellie Kim-Weroha Secretary-Treasurer Spencer Pope

Secretary-Treasurer Spencer Pope MSO Trustee to AAO Mike Durbin

2021-2022 Board Committees

Shepard Award Kevin Denis - Chair, Ali Fallgatter, Scott Arbit

Nominating Nellie Kim-Weroha - CHR, Mark Dake (President)

Melissa Bernhardt, Michael LaFerla, Mike Maslowski

Annual Sessions Nellie Kim-Weroha - CHR, Spencer Pope (Secretary-Treas.)

Keri Barrow, Fabio Pinheiro, Estee Wang

Budget & Finance Spencer Pope - CHR, Nellie Kim-Weroha (President-Elect)

Daniel Keith, Randall Markarian, Emily Willett

2021 - 2022 Elected Standing Committees

Membership, Ethics & Judicial Concerns Committee

Libby Graham of IL, renewing term expiring for fourth term through 2023

Mike Maslowski of WI, beginning first term through 2023

David Sander of MO, renewing term expiring for third term through 2023

Keith Levin of MB, renewing term expiring for fourth term through 2023

Nellie Kim-Weroha of MN, renewing term expiring for third term through 2023

Minnie Vishwanath of NE, beginning first term through 2023

Communications Committee

Fabio Pinheiro of MB, renewing term expiring for second term through 2023 Nellie Kim-Weroha of MN, renewing term expiring for fourth term through 2023 Michael LaFerla of MO, renewing term expiring for second term through 2023 Peter Longo of NE, renewing term expiring for second term through 2023 Keri Barrow of SD, renewing term expiring for second term through 2023

MSO Delegation to AAO 2022 House of Delegates

Delegates: Ali Fallgatter – Chair, Nellie Kim-Weroha – Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Daniel

Keith, Deborah Lien, Spencer Pope, Emily Willett

Alternates: Keri Barrow, Randall Markarian, Dennis Sommers

Policy Manual: Board Committees

Each component director shall be assigned to one of the standing committees by Nominating Committee chair for election at the Annual Member Business Meeting. Meetings shall be at the call of the chairman or any three of the members.

Budget and Finance Committee:

The secretary-treasurer will serve as chair of the committee and the incoming secretary-treasurer will serve as the vice-chair. When possible, this position should be used to "groom" the next MSO secretary-treasurer. In addition to the chair, committee members shall consist of the president-elect, secretary-treasurer and three component directors (one being the incoming secretary-treasurer). The committee should annually review the preliminary estimates of income, expenditures and reserves; examine the annual budget and prepare specific recommendations to the Board and membership; and recommend the financial and investment program of the Society per the financial policy.

Nominating Committee:

Chaired by the president-elect, the committee shall also include the president and three component directors (not eligible for nomination). The committee should present their recommendations at the Ad Interim Board Meeting on nomination for the offices of president-elect and secretary-treasurer annually and trustee as needed. Per *Bylaws*, nominations should be approved by the Board and submitted in writing to membership prior to the MSO Annual Session for election at the business meeting. The committee presents the list of nominees for MSO's delegates and alternate delegates to the AAO House for summer Board approval (selected after AAO Annual Session) so the committee's report can be presented to the active membership prior to the MSO Annual Session Business Meeting. The Nominating Committee chair is responsible for securing a commitment based on Executive Committee approval for the following year's secretary-treasurer nominee so this leader can be placed as vice chair on the Budget and Finance Committee the year before serving as secretary/treasurer.

Annual Sessions Committee:

Chaired by the president-elect, the committee shall also consist of the secretary-treasurer and three component directors. The committee should recommend changes in the Annual Session Planning Guidelines, work with other constituencies and components to encourage joint meetings and investigate and propose future annual session sites/rotation patterns. The future incoming president responsible for their annual session's year shall work with the executive director to determine appropriate site options to recommend to the board based upon the board's rotation and joint meeting preferences.

Shepard Award Committee - Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award:

The committee shall consist of the last three most immediate past presidents with the longest-serving past president serving as chair (3/11). The duty of this committee is to select an annual awardee. This award will not be made when no suitable nominations are available. Nomination should be presented for Board approval at the Ad Interim Board Meeting (approx. 18 months prior to presentation). The chair shall notify the named recipient after the Board meeting, coordinate the biographical write-up for the Annual Session program booklet, and deliver or assign the onsite presentation of the award. Refer to under Awards for Shepard Award implementation policy.

Bylaws: Elected Committees

To access MSO bylaws: http://www.msortho.org/common/pages/UserFile.aspx?fileId=845515 ARTICLE IX — COMMITTEES - A. STANDING COMMITTEES:

- 1. NAME: The Standing Committees of this Society shall be:
- a. Committee on Membership, Ethics and Judicial Concerns
- b. Committee on Communications