Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2020 MSO Virtual Annual Session Highlights

- 1) Over 2,500 doctors, team members, exhibitors and guests participated in the October 2-3, 2020 Virtual MSO-PCSO-RMSO-SWSO Annual Session. This included a record participation of 294 MSO orthodontists, plus their team members.
- 2) 2019 2020 MSO President Dr. Alison Fallgatter led an efficient Virtual Board Meeting and first-ever Virtual Annual Member Business Meeting October 2.
- 3) The following new officers were installed to serve the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) members in 2020 2021: Dr. Scott Arbit of Mequon, Wisconsin as president; Dr. Mark Dake of West Plains, Missouri as president-elect; and Nellie Kim-Weroha of Rochester, Minnesota as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board. Drs. Melissa Bernhardt of West Des Moines, Iowa and Estee Wang of Maplewood, Minnesota join the MSO Board as new directors.
- 4) MSO's 2020 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dr. Ross Crist by his family early July when the MSO Annual Session was moved from Chicago to a virtual format. He passed away July 16, 2020 after a courageous battle with cancer to be recognized posthumously at the October 2, 2020 MSO Annual Member Business Meeting.
- 5) MSO's 2020 delegation to the Virtual AAO House was elected to again serve at the 2021 House of Delegates: Drs. Alison Fallgatter - Chair, Nellie Kim-Weroha – Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Daniel Keith, Jackie Miller, Deb Lien and Dennis Sommers. Alternates are Drs. Spencer Pope, Ryan VanLaecken and Emily Willett.
- 6) President Fallgatter recognized Dr. **David Gehring** for his eight years of service as the lowa Director on the MSO Board and Dr. **Kevin Horner** for representing MSO on AAOPAC. Members approved the 2021 budget.
- 7) MSO encourages components to have their president-elect or representative participate in the VIRTUAL AAO Leadership Development Conference to be held the evenings of February 25 and March 25, 2021. The Board approved MSO's three Emerging Leader positions to attend virtually as Drs. Brandon Seubert of Minnesota, Kristen Frazier of Illinois, and Heather Horton of Minnesota.
- 8) MSO's Ad Interim Board of Directors Meeting will be held virtually March 12, 2021 from 8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Members are encouraged to let their component director know suggestions for developing or supporting resolutions by this Board Meeting where MSO leaders will prepare to represent members at the 2021 AAO House of Delegates in April in Boston.
- 9) Dr. **Deborah Lien** of Minnesota will receive the MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award at the 2021 MSO Annual Session in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.
- 10) Join your colleagues Oct. 1 2 at the Hyatt Regency Milwaukee to glean Blue Ribbon Pearls from an all-star program for doctors and team members including: Drs Matt Larson, Russ Kittleson, Neal Kravitz, Ed Lin, Anil Idiculla, Jane Wright and Ms. Michelle Shimmin. Go to www.msortho.org for meeting information. Registration and housing opens May 2021.