Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2020 MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting Highlights vs. 3.11.20

- 1) MSO officers, directors and delegates teamed up to utilize their leadership skills to further the goals and objectives of the organization at the MSO Ad Interim Board Meeting held March 6 at the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) headquarters in St. Louis. MSO President Dr. Ali Fallgatter welcomed Dr. Fabio Pinheiro as the new Manitoba Director on the Board.
- 2) The Constituent Task Force evaluated future meeting and management needs to provide the following recommendations accepted by the MSO Board:
 - a. MSO is serving its members well within the current governance structure.
 - b. The MSO Annual Session should be on a three-year rotation between Chicago, Minneapolis and a unique, cost-effective venue that could be a centrally-located city, cruise or a combined meeting with another constituent, component, or university.
- 3) The current MSO Annual Session Board Committee was asked to report back to the Fall Board Meeting with a suggested protocol for a revised standing committee to also include non-board members and provide consistent Annual Session leadership.
- 4) The Nominating Committee's motion was approved to submit these officers for election by the members at the 2020 MSO Annual Member Business Meeting to be held in Chicago October 3: Dr. Scott Arbit - president, Dr. Mark Dake - president-elect and Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha - secretary-treasurer.
- 5) The Board approved holding the 2023 MSO Annual Session in Rochester, Minnesota October 13 14. **Dr. Nellie Kim-Weroha** is slated to be the 2023 MSO president to assist locally in securing Mayo clinicians for a review-style meeting format that has been well-received in the past.
- 6) MSO Board and Delegation members reviewed currently-available AAO resolutions. Delegates representing MSO at the AAO 2020 AAO House of Delegates in Atlanta are: Drs. Ali Fallgatter Chair, Nellie Kim-Weroha Vice Chair, Mark Dake, Daniel Keith, Deb Lien, Jackie Miller, and Dennis Sommers. Alternates are: Spencer Pope, Ryan VanLaecken, and Emily Willett. Please let them know your thoughts on resolutions posted on: https://www.aaoinfo.org/about/governance/house-delegates
- 7) The following AAO team members shared information on a variety of topics of interest to MSO Board and Delegation members in the meeting at the AAO headquarters: Jackie Bode American Association of Orthodontists Foundation, Chelsea Banaskavich Donated Orthodontic Services, Trey Lawrence Advocacy, Almira Schult Consumer Awareness Program, Brandon Hackworth Membership, and Mindy Brothers Innovation and Transformation Fund.
- 8) Thanks to these MSO members participating in the 2020 AAO Professional Advocacy Conference recently in D.C.: Drs. Kevin Horner, Eloisa Garcia, Deb Lien, Daniel Keith, Scott Arbit, Ginny Mennemeyer, Ara Goshgarian, Emily Willett, Michael LaFerla, Mike Durbin, Dennis Sommers, and Todd Thayer. Attending Board members encouraged others to participate in the future as a highly successful lobbying event to represent members and patients.
- 9) Shepard Award Committee Chair **Dr. Ginny Mennemeyer** announced the 2021 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award will be presented to **Dr. Deb Lien** at the 2021 MSO Annual Session in Milwaukee. **Dr. Ross Crist** will receive the 2020 Shepard Award in Chicago.
- 10) For information on the 2020 MSO Annual Session October 2 3 in Chicago, Illinois, go to www.msortho.org or watch for registration materials coming soon. Featured doctor and team speakers are: Dr. Gerry Samson, Dr. Ashok Kothari, Rosemary Bray, and Dr. Anil Idiculla.