COUNCIL ON SCIENTIFIC AFFAIRS (COSA)

The Council on Scientific Affairs (COSA) met via videoconference on January 10, 2020.

COSA reviewed 32 applications for the Hellman, Sicher and Graber Awards. The winners will present their lectures during Annual Session. The following are the 2020 AAO Research Awards winners:

Milo Hellman Research Award to Dr. **Lauren S. Todoki** from the University of Washington for research titled: *The National Dental Practice-Based Research Network adult anterior openbite study: treatment success*

Harry Sicher Research Award to Dr. **Mary Lanier Zaytoun Berne** from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill for research titled: *Machine learning algorithms: a new approach to the extraction decision*

Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit to:

Dr. **Hillary E. Lathrop** from the University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill for research titled: *Orthognathic speech pathology: understanding how Class III jaw disharmonies influence speech using spectral moment analysis*

Dr. **Yona Rachel Vandersluis** from the University of Toronto for research titled: Dental outcomes following pre- and post- permanent maxillary canine emergence SABG in CUCLP

Dr. **Niloufar Azami** from the University of Connecticut for research titled: *Raloxifene administration enhances retention in an orthodontic relapse model*

Dr. **Rutger Stache** from the University of Illinois - Chicago for research titled: *Oral appliance and pharmacological agents in the treatment of sleep apnea: a pilot clinical study*

The 2021 Hellman, Sicher, Graber online application will be available on March 15, 2020. The deadline to apply is October 1, 2020.

COSA accepted 28 Oral Research applications, 434 E-Poster applications and 34 Table Clinic applications to be presented at the 2020 AAO Annual Session. There will be no hard copies of Posterboards displayed at Annual Session. E-Posters will be available for viewing during the Annual Session and for two months after Annual Session on the AAO website.

COSA's next meeting is on Friday, May 1, 2020 at the AAO Annual Session. During the Annual Session, COSA members will be involved with judging the AAO Resident Scholar Award presentations, judging the Table Clinics and awarding the Joseph E. Johnson

Table Clinic Award and moderating the Hellman, Sicher, and Graber Award lectures and the Oral Research presentations.

COSA meets every January by videoconference. The next videoconference meeting is scheduled for January 8, 2021.

Steven Marshall <u>steven-marshall@uiowa.edu</u> 847/381-0148