Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Press Release



For release: Immediately

Contact: Kristi Burmeister, MSO Executive Director

Phone: 636-745-3008

E-mail: association.info@icloud.com

Website: <u>www.msortho.org</u>

MSO Announces New 2019 - 2020 Board and 2019 Shepard Award Winner

The following new officers were installed to serve the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) members in 2019 - 2020: Dr. **Alison Fallgatter** of Jamestown, North Dakota as president; Dr. **Scott Arbit** of Mequon, Wisconsin as president-elect and Dr. **Mark Dake** of West Plains, Missouri as secretary-treasurer. Dr. **Mike Durbin** of Des Plaines, Illinois continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board.

Dr. Fabio Pinheiro of Winnipeg, Manitoba and Dr. Michael LaFerla of Joplin, Missouri join the MSO Board as new directors. Also continuing to serve their respective component organization on the MSO Board as directors are: Drs. Spencer Pope of Flossmoor, Illinois; David Gehring of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Nellie Kim-Weroha of Rochester, Minnesota; Emily Willett of Lincoln, Nebraska; Daniel Keith of Mandan, North Dakota; Keri Barrow of Sioux Falls, South Dakota; and Mike Maslowski of Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

Dr. **Kevin Denis** completed his term as president at the 2019 MSO Annual Session held October 25 - 26 at the Branson Convention Center in Branson, Missouri.

MSO's 2019 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award was presented at the MSO Annual Member Business Meeting to Dr. **Jim Osborne.** This award was created in honor of Dr. Earl E. Shepard to recognize orthodontists for outstanding service to orthodontics and their community. He has served as president of the Missouri Society of Orthodontists and MSO, delegate to the AAO House and has been instrumental in the success of the AAO Consumer Awareness Program as an MSO representative to the AAO Council on Communication. He is currently serving as the Interim Chair and Clinical Director of the program at UMKC School of Dentistry, Orthodontic Department.

MSO represents more than 1,450 members in Illinois, Iowa, Manitoba, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin. The Midwestern Society of Orthodontists is an AAO constituent that supports the mission of the AAO by providing resources, communication and leadership, while serving as a voice for its component societies and individual members.

MSO's 2020 Annual Session will be held October 2-3 at the Radisson Blu Aqua in Chicago.

For additional information, go to www.msortho.org or contact the MSO office by e-mail association.info@icloud.com or phone at 636-745-3008.