Minutes version 10/5/18

Midwestern Society of Orthodontists 2018 Annual Session BUSINESS MEETING

7:30 a.m. - September 22 - - Radisson Blu Mall of America --- Bloomington, MN

1) Call to Order and Welcome

The annual membership meeting of the Midwestern Society of Orthodontists was called to order by President Ryan VanLaecken on Saturday, September 22 at 7:30 a.m. VanLaecken introduced the headtable: Kristi Burmeister - MSO Executive Director; Arnie Hill - MSO Parliamentarian; Ali Fallgatter - MSO Secretary-Treasurer; Kevin Denis - President-Elect; Mike Durbin - MSO Trustee and Brent Larson - AAO President and MSO Past President honored with performing the installation. The new AAO Executive Director Lynne Thomas Gordon was welcomed.

2) Report of Parliamentarian

Hill confidently stated it was his pleasure to announce we have a quorum.

3) Leader Recognition

Denis recognized attending leader members who have given of their time and talents to MSO including MSO component board members, MSO representatives to an AAO Council or other AAO entity, MSO 2018 delegates and MSO past presidents.

Lien and Stafford came to the podium to receive MSO plaques of appreciation for their service through their term expiration as MSO representative on the Council on Governmental Affairs and MSO Director from Nebraska, respectively.

4) AAO & AAOF Report

Larson presented a gift of appreciation from AAO to President VanLaecken and added that MSO is well-represented on the AAO Board with Durbin. Durbin encouraged members to download the AAO member app and attend the AAO Winter Conference. He thanked attending leaders for their service and congratulated VanLaecken on a successful presidential year and meeting.

5) MSO Shepard Award Introduction

Lien provided an insightful introduction and presented MSO's 2018 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award to Klarsch.

6) MSO Shepard Award Acceptance

Klarsch came forward with a standing ovation from attendees. He shared personal and professional "thank yous", insight on his professional background and how blessed members are to be surrounded by passionate leaders in the MSO in the profession.

7) 2017 Annual Business Meeting Minutes

Fallgatter referred to the 2017 Annual Business Meeting minutes posted in advance on the website.

Motion: A motion was made and seconded to approve the 2017 MSO Annual Session Business Meeting Minutes.

On vote, motion approved.

8) Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Fallgatter remained at the podium to announce that the 2018 budget and proposed bylaw changes were also posted in advance on the website and are in the handout for review.

Motion: The Budget and Finance Committee made a motion to approve the 2019 MSO budget. On vote, motion approved.

Motion: A motion was made and seconded to approve the MSO bylaws amendment approved by the MSO Board to be in compliance with AAO bylaw changes and to remove the word "scientific" for sessions.

On vote, motion approved.

9) Nominating Committee

VanLaecken called Denis to the podium to present the Nominating Committee's motion to approve the nominations posted in advance on the MSO web site and in the handout.

Motion: The Nominating Committee made a motion to approve the committee's recommendations for nomination.

On vote, motion approved.

10) Installation of Officers

Larson asked these officers to come forward for installation and congratulated:

President Kevin Denis

President-Elect Ali Fallgatter

Secretary - Treasurer Scott Arbit

VanLaecken thanked Durbin for his continued service with his second term beginning May 2019 as MSO Trustee to the AAO BOT. New incoming directors whose service starts at the conclusion of this meeting were asked to stand: Emily Willett as Nebraska director and Mike Maslowski as Wisconsin director.

11) Passing of Gavel, Outgoing President's Comments

VanLaecken thanked his family, practice partner, staff mentor Dr. Bob Arnold, MSO staff, 2018 MSO Planning Committee and board leaders for their support during his leadership. He concluded that the MSO is in good hands with exceptional leaders and it has been his honor to serve. VanLaecken presented Denis with his gavel for the transition to be the next MSO president.

12) Incoming President's Comments

Denis thanked VanLaecken for his fantastic job and excitement and passion in servicing his profession in orthodontics. Denis presented VanLaecken with the MSO Presidents' plaque and vase. One additional gift from Minnesota of a true Vikings hat was given to top off his Sunday game attire. Attendees retired president VanLaecken with a Skol chant.

13) Unfinished Business

Durbin asked for a standing ovation for Brent and Cindy Larson as their official last meeting as a leader as his term expires at the 2019 AAO Annual Session in May.

14) New Business

Denis invited attendees to the 2019 MSO Annual Session, introduced the planning committee and referred to the meetings program outlined on the handout. He encouraged attendees to thank the vendors for their support today in the exhibits.

Page 3 – MSO 2018 Annual Session Business Meeting Minutes

15) Adjourn

Motion: A motion was made and seconded to adjourn at 8:08 a.m. On vote, motion <u>carried</u>.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dr. Ali Fallgatter

2017 - 2018 Secretary/Treasurer