SAINT LOUIS UNIVERSITY

Fourteen residents graduated in December of 2018 and have scattered across the U.S. and the world. They are expected to serve their patients and specialty admirably. Their names and home dental schools are as follows: Drs. **Evangelos Akli** (University of Athens), **Erin Allbritton** (Baylor College of Dentistry), **Kimberly Baptist** (Southern Illinois University), **Ross Brenner** (Indiana University), **Michelle Clinton** (UT Health San Antonio), **Drew Colantino** (Harvard University), **Erin Fraundorf** (University of Louisville), **Nikoleta Konstantoni** (University of Athens), **Catherine Loner** (University of Louisville), **Tony Nguyen** (Baylor College of Dentistry), **Brian Patterson** (University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston), **Alexander Sy** (NYU), **Jessica Thai** (Virginia Commonwealth) and **Brian Wilson** (University of Oklahoma).

All the graduated residents passed the ABO written exam. The competency exam for the Class of 2018 was recently proctored by Drs. **Larry Tadlock** (Baylor College of Dentistry) and Dr. **Tim Trulove** (University of Alabama) and it was a rewarding experience for all.

Dr. **Ki Beom Kim** was appointed as Program Director for Orthodontics on July 1, 2018. Dr. **Patrick Foley** was appointed as Associate Director for the Center for Advanced Dental Education (CADE), and Dr. **Julie McCray** was appointed as Clinic Director for Orthodontics. Dr. **Brent Bankhead** transitioned from a part-time to full-time faculty member on January 1, 2019. Dr. **Michael Silverman** joined our part-time clinical faculty and Drs. **Kenneth Rowan** and **Christopher Kesling** resigned as part-time clinical instructors.

Dr. **Eustaquio Araujo** moved back to his hometown of Belo Horizonte in Brazil and decreased his time by half with SLU-CADE. Dr. **Rolf Behrents** retired from CADE as of December 31, 2017 and was appointed to Professor Emeritus status.

Dr. Hiroshi Ueno received the Pillar's Endowed Professorship in Orthodontics. Dr. Lysle E. Johnston, Jr. (Professor Emeritus) received the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award from the AAO. Dr. Rolf Behrents (Professor Emeritus) was honored at the Society of Orthodontic Educators' Conference during the 2018 AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. Dr. James Klarsch (Adjunct Clinical Professor) was awarded the 2018 Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Award from the MSO.

Dr. **Ki Beom Kim** will serve as the co-director of the Graduate Orthodontic Residency Program (GORP) along with Dr. **Rolf Behrents**. SLU-CADE will host the 31st annual GORP meeting at Union Station in Saint Louis on July 25-28, 2019.

The Orthodontic Education and Research Foundation (OERF) will hold its next meeting on March 6-10, 2019 at the Ritz-Carlton Grande Lakes in Orlando, Florida. Many speakers, including Drs. Kevin O'Brien (Merit Award Recipient), Lysle E. Johnston, Jr., Bruno Gribel, Chris Bentson, Ki Beom Kim, Tung Nguyen, Eustaquio Araujo and Scott Conley, will present at the meeting. For more information on the OERF meeting, please contact moscalb@slu.edu.

Ki Beom Kim

kim.kibeom@gmail.com

Fax 314/268-5191