Midwestern Society of Orthodontists Top 10 2018 MSO Annual Session Highlights

September 21 - 22 • Radisson Blu Mall of America, Bloomington, Minnesota

- 1) Over 455 doctors, staff team members, exhibitors and guests brought home a winner at the 2018 Midwestern Society of Orthodontists (MSO) Annual Session at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington, Minnesota where Dr. Ryan VanLaecken of Watertown, South Dakota presided.
- 2) MSO was honored to have our hometown hero and AAO President Dr. Brent Larson install the following MSO officers to serve in 2018 2019: Dr. Kevin Denis of Mahtomedi, Minnesota as president; Dr. Alison Fallgatter of Jamestown, North Dakota as president-elect and Dr. Scott Arbit of Mequon, Wisconsin as secretary-treasurer. Dr. Mike Durbin of Des Plaines, Illinois continues to serve as an officer and MSO Trustee to the American Association of Orthodontists (AAO) Board. Dr. Mike Maslowski of Oshkosh, Wisconsin and Dr. Emily Willett of Lincoln, Nebraska join the MSO Board as new directors.
- 3) The MSO Board developed taskforces to report to the MSO Board of Directors at the March 8, 2019 Ad Interim meeting on two key issues:
 - study the relevance of the constituent organization
 - streamline MSO's Strategic Plan into the AAO Strategy Map format
- 4) Dr. Jim Klarsch of St. Louis, Missouri received a standing ovation as he approached the podium to accept the 2018 MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award. He has served as MSO president and delegate to the AAO House and has been instrumental in the success of the AAO Consumer Awareness Program as an MSO representative to the AAO Council on Communication.
- 5) These MSO leaders were elected to represent MSO at the AAO 2019 House of Delegates: Drs. Spencer Pope Chair, Alison Fallgatter Vice Chair, Ross Crist, Mark Dake, Kevin Denis, Daniel Keith, and Kim Stafford. Alternates are Drs. Ara Goshgarian, Deb Lien, and Dennis Sommers.
- 6) MSO appreciation plaques were presented to Dr. Kim Stafford of Omaha, Nebraska as director from Nebraska and Dr. Deb Lien of Rochester, Minnesota as MSO representative on the Council on Governmental Affairs at the completion of their term of service. Members approved the 2019 budget and updates to the MSO bylaws to bring the component section in compliance with the AAO bylaws and remove the word "scientific" from meeting requirements.
- 7) MSO encourages components to send their president-elect or representative to attend the AAO Leadership Development Conference to be held January 24, 2019 in conjunction with the AAO Winter Conference in Marco Island, Florida.
- 8) AAO Counselor Sean Murphy provided an update to members on the recent successes with the Component Legal Support Fund efforts in both lowa and Missouri regarding dental specialty laws. Members noted these efforts by the AAO leadership have resulted in positive outcomes that have made them "abundantly aware of the value of their AAO membership."
- 9) Dr. Jim Osborne will be presented the MSO Earl E. Shepard Distinguished Service Award at the 2019 MSO Annual Session. He currently serves as the Interim Chair, Clinical Professor and Director of the Orthodontics Clinic at UMKC Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics and served MSO as editor, past president, delegate and representative to the AAO Council on Communications.
- 10) Save the date to attend the 2019 MSO Annual Session October 25 26 at the Branson Landing in Branson, Missouri. Scientific program speakers are Drs. Vince Kokich, Jr., Richard Roblee and Ki Beom Kim. The staff program features Nancy Hyman and Carol Eaton. Plan to block out extra days to enjoy the fall foliage of the Ozark Mountains while shopping/dining at The Landing, enjoying nationally-recognized golf such as Top of the Rock, Silver Dollar City, caves, museums, area lake activities, live shows and more listed at www.explorebranson.com. Go to www.msortho.org for meeting information.