College of Diplomates of the American Board of Orthodontics (CDABO)

The CDABO held several events at the 2018 AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. The CDABO Prep Course, Discrepancy Index and Cast-Radiograph Evaluation course to prepare members taking the ABO clinical portion of their board certification ABO Clinical Exam, was well attended. Dr. **Dan Rejman** taught the course. This prep course will always be offered at the AAO Annual Session.

The CDABO held their Annual Awards Luncheon for the ABO and honored five individuals for their dedication to the specialty of orthodontics. ABO Directors presented the 2018 Albert H. Ketcham Memorial Award to Dr. **Birte Melsen**. The 2018 Dale B. Wade Award of Excellence in Orthodontics was presented to Dr. **Jeryl English**; the Earl E. & Wilma S. Shepard Distinguished Service Award to Drs. **Peter Greco** and **Richard Diemer**; and O.B. Vaughan Special Recognition Award to Dr. **Richard Kulbersh**.

The College of Diplomates of the American Board of Orthodontics sponsors an award that recognizes the "best case" report published in the *American Journal of Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics* the prior year. The judges for this award are CDABO officers, and was presented by Dr. **Rolf Bhrents**, editor of the *AJODO*. The most outstanding 2017 case was authored by Dr. **Vanessa Parades-Gallardo**.

Out of 73 Orthodontic programs in the United States and Canada, 68 Graduate Orthodontic programs displayed 198 cases in The College's Resident Case Display Program. The best Orthodontic Resident Case Report Awards were as follows:

- First Place: Rutgers University
- Second Place: University of Michigan
- Third Place: Saint Louis University
- Honorable Mentions: University of Iowa and New York University

CDABO's 2017 39th Annual Reunion with Dr. **Paul Miller** as president was held July 7-11, 2017, in Squaw Valley at the Resort at Squaw Creek, Lake Tahoe, California. The meeting theme was *Controversies; Stability of The End Result*. Dr. **Wick Alexander** was the recipient of our College award, "Legends in Orthodontics." Wick was honored for his outstanding contributions to our orthodontic profession and for his exceptional commitment and lifetime achievements in our profession. Speakers included Drs. **Wick Alexander**, **William Proffit, Jason Cope, Peter Buschang, Perry Opin, James Vaden** and **Gary Opin**. As a separate lecture for the staff, **Rich Arzaga**, CFP, CCIM, presented a lecture regarding *Investments*.

The CDABO Chairs at this meeting were: General Chair Dr. **Robert Vaught**; Scientific Chair, Dr. **Eric Dellinger**; Social Chair, Dr. **Seuss** and **Adeline Kassisieh**; Children's Chair, Dr. **Dan** and **Julie Rejman**; Golf Chair, Dr. **Bruce Goldstein**; Logo Development and Fun Run Chair, Dr. **John Carter**; Resident Attendance Program, Dr. **Peter Ngan**. A special thank you to these very talented individuals, and we would not have this great program

without them.

The College Council, all of whom I also wish to thank for their help and support over this past year. As I said at the CDABO Welcome Breakfast, I have never worked with more professional, knowledgeable and talented individuals than our College Council.

The current CDABO Council are the following:

- Terry Sobler, President
- Eric Dellinger, President-Elect
- Bruce Goldstein, Secretary
- Robert Vaught, Treasurer
- Dan Rejman, Senior Councilor
- Linda Rigali, Junior Councilor
- Paul E. Miller, Immediate Past President
- Perry Opin, Parliamentarian
- Howard Fine, Editor of The CDABO Bulletin
- Michael Guess, Councilor at Large & Editor of The Ezine magazine
- John Carter, Historian
- Bryn Cooper, New & Younger Members

The prestigious CDABO Samir Bishara Award of Merit is given annually at the summer meeting to an outstanding College member who has gone "a step beyond" in service to the College and/or the orthodontic community with a 100% Commitment to Excellence. Dr. **Tom Skafidas** was honored with The College's prestigious Samir Bishara Award of Merit for his outstanding commitment to The College, and was presented by Dr. **Robert Vaught**.

The College's Residents Attendance Program (RAP) was developed with the purpose of bringing orthodontic residents to the College's Annual Summer Meeting. The College provides the lodging, food costs and registration fees for the residents. At this years' College Annual Summer Meeting nine residents were in attendance, and 221 total attendees. During this past year, The College has continued our Annual Awards Luncheon for the ABO, Prep Courses in Preparation for the ABO Board Certification Clinical Examination, Resident Attendance program (RAP) for our summer meeting, and Resident Case Display. The College also presents an Annual award that recognizes the "best case" report published in the *American Journal of Orthodontics and Dento-facial Orthopedics* the prior year. The judges for this award are CDABO officers.

CDABO/ABO Resident Advocacy Program has been implemented, as well as the CDABO Mentor Program, a special breakfast with a Case Presentation Speaker, updated our website, and we continue to recruit younger members. We have also implemented a program for spouses, when a CDABO member has been deceased, to continue to enjoy their annual fellowship with our members and friends of the College. There were 7 first time attendees. CDABO 2018 40th Annual Meeting with Dr. **Terry Sobler** as president will be held at Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Florida from July 6-10, 2018. Theme of this meeting is *Stability and Failures: New Paradigm in Successful Outcomes*. The Scientific Chair is Dr. **Ravindra Nanda**.

Speakers will include: Drs. Chun-Hsi Chung, Madhur Upadhyay, Flavio Uribe, Greg Huang, Sunil Kapila, Won Moon, Saran Huja, Pat Turley, Valmy Kulbersh, Jae Park and Neal Kravitz. The CDABO recipient of our "Legend in Orthodontic" award will be Dr. Ravindra Nanda. Registration materials will be posted at www.cdabo.org.

The 41st 2019 Annual Meeting, July 12-16 with Dr. **Eric Dellinger** as president will be located in Nashville, Tennessee, the home of the Grand Ole Opry and the Country Music Hall of Fame. The theme of the meeting is *Facial Harmony*, and the venue will be the Gaylord Hotel next to the Grand Ole Opry. We will enjoy lectures by Drs. **Jason Cope**, **Straty Righellis** and **Scott Frey**. Their presentations will focus on TADs, accelerated orthodontic tooth movement and facial contouring.

The 42nd 2020 Annual Meeting, July 10-13 with Dr. **Bruce Goldstein** as president will be located in Coeur D'Alene, Idaho. Our scientific Chair, Dr. **Lee Graber**, is in the process of planning one of the most unique programs seen at any meeting. Each day we will dissect the most controversial topics in our field and will have experts, on different sides, debate each other. Non-board certified orthodontists can attend one time to evaluate the meeting and, hopefully, this will convince you to become board certified and join our family reunion. The annual meeting is family oriented, the scientific meeting is from 8am to 12pm and you spend the afternoon with your friends and family. Twelve CE credits are earned.

Special recognition to CDABO Executive Director Scott Cant, Executive Meeting Planner Darrin Crittington and Executive Secretary Jan Beck for their outstanding contributions.

See you at Disney World.

Paul Miller drpemiller@me.com 217/224-8002 Fax 217/224-5703