COUNCIL ON SCIENTIFIC AFFAIRS (COSA)

COSA held a meeting on May 4, 2018 at the AAO Annual Session. This meeting was to review COSA members' assignments for the 2018 Annual Session. During Annual Session, COSA members judged 33 Charley Schultz Resident Scholar presentations and 47 Table Clinic presentations. COSA members moderated 28 Oral Research presentations and the Hellman, Sicher, Graber lectures. 346 E-Posters were available for viewing during Annual Session.

The 2018 Charley Schultz Resident Scholar Award winners are:



From left to right:
Dr. Kubera, Dr. Martin, Dr. Varella,
Dr. Bloom, Dr. Wire, Dr. C. Li, Dr. Y.
Li, Dr. Maleki, Brad Clatt, the Vice
President, Sales & Commercial
Operations from Dentsply Sirona
Orthodontics

Basic Science Research

1st place: Dr. **Chenshuang Li** – University of California, Los Angeles; Research titled: Neurexin superfamily member Cntnap4 is a specific receptor of Nell-1 for osteogenesis

2nd place: Dr. **Kathleen Martin** – University of British Columbia; Research titled: *Tracing the cellular origins of mesenchymal derivatives in craniofacial development*

3rd place: Dr. **Yina Li** – University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Research titled: *The role of autophagy during orthodontic tooth movement (OTM)*

Clinical Research

1st place: Dr. **Catherine Kubera** – Tri-Service Orthodontic Residency Program; Research titled: *Preferred occlusal cant for patients with orbital dystopia*

2nd place: Dr. **James Bloom** – Maimonides Medical Center; Research titled: *Accuracy of dental stone models cast from 3D printed flexible polymer shells*

3rd place: Dr. **Clint Wire** – University of Iowa; Research titled: *Adolescent skeletal and dental changes with rapid maxillary expansion (RME)*

3rd place: Dr. **Alissa Maria Varella** – Rajiv Gandhi University; Research titled: *Low level laser therapy (LLLT) increases Interleukin-16 (IL-16) in GCF and enhances the rate of orthodontic tooth movement (OTM)*

The 2018 Joseph E. Johnson Clinical Award for Table Clinics winners are:



From left to right: Dr. Drouin-Gagné, Dr. Bragassa, Dr. Gazzani

Léa Drouin-Gagné – Université de Montréal; Research title: *Efficacy of oral appliances* on obstructive sleep apnea during pregnancy: a pilot study

Brian Bragassa – University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill; Research title: *Orthodontic tooth movement with accelerated Invisalign® therapy in conjunction with Acceledent Aura®: a randomized clinical trial*

Francesca Gazzani – University of Rome Tor Vergata; Research title: *Facemask* performance and soft tissue evaluation during orthopedic maxillary protraction: a FEM analysis

Applications are being accepted for the 2019 Milo Hellman Research Award, the Harry Sicher Research Award and the Thomas M. Graber Awards of Special Merit. Applications for these awards can be found on the 2019 Annual Session website https://www.aaoinfo.org/meetings/2019-annual-session. Only the online application will be accepted for these awards. The application deadline is 6:00pm EDT on October 1, 2018.

COSA will be accepting online applications to present Oral Research, Table Clinics and E-Posters at the 2019 AAO Annual Session starting the first week of August 2018. The application deadline is 6:00pm EDT on October 15, 2018.

COSA will be accepting online applications for the Charley Schultz Resident Scholar Award presentations at the 2019 AAO Annual Session starting the first week of December 2018. The first forty residents who apply for the program are accepted. The application deadline is 6:00pm EST on February 15, 2019.

The 2018-2019 members of COSA are:

- Dr. **Sylvia Frazier-Bowers**, chair (SAO)
- Dr. Michael Duryea (RMSO)
- Dr. Onur Kadioglu (SWSO)
- Dr. James Mah (PCSO)
- Dr. **Steven Marshall** (MSO)
- Dr. J. Martin Palomo (GLAO)
- Dr. Emile Rossouw (NESO)
- Dr. **Dina Stappert** (MASO)
- Dr. Rolf Behrents (Trustee Liaison)

COSA's next meeting is January 4, 2019 via video conferencing.

Steven Marshall 847/381-0148

sdmortho@aol.com