## Minnesota

Cheryl Cermin, President
James Haack, President-elect
Estee Wang, Vice President
Heather Horton, Secretary/Treasurer

2018 was an eventful year for fellow Minnesotans! The MAO Annual Winter Meeting was Friday, January 5, 2018 at the Minneapolis Marriott City Center. The speaker for the doctor session was Dr. Harry Legan from Vanderbilt University. He shared his knowledge on An Orthodontist's Airway Journey. The staff program speaker was Mr. Shane Langley from 3M Oral Care on Excellence in Direct Bonding. At the MAO business meeting, Dr. Donna Stenberg (right) was awarded the Roger J. Fredsall Distinguished Service Award. Please join us in congratulating her!



MAO Executive Board meets year-round to continue planning and addressing critical issues that affect our fellow members. Be sure to check our website, mnortho.org for



membership information and updates on events. We thank Dr. **David Resch** for his time in developing and maintaining the website.

Thanks to **Cheryl Cermin** on assuming the MAO presidency. She is pictured pictured with out-going president, **Heather Carr**.



We would like to thank the current board members for their time in serving on behave of our members. Dr. Chad Kelly (Program Committee), Dr. Rosemary Lelich (Education Committee), Dr. Becky Maher (Public and Professional Relations), Dr. Chad Larson (Membership Committee), Dr. Scott Rensch (Dental Care Plans),

Dr. **Deb Lien** (Legislative and Regulatory Affairs), Dr. **Alisa Madson** (Constitution and Bylaws), and Dr. **Heather Carr** (Past President and Nominating Committee). We encourage members to contact the fellow board members with any concerns and hope you will consider serving on the board.

MAO was approved for the AAO CAP matching fund in September 2017. The MAO board hired a Minneapolis-based marketing firm, Ainsley Shea for state-

level marketing media coverage (in local newspapers and magazines) and worked with **Katie Maassen** at AAO for all digital and social media marketing. Marketing to consumers began in late October 2017. We started our Facebook page, developed the MAO logo, and did monthly monitoring of our ROI. In May 2018, since the state-level marketing appeared to have minimal impact, the MAO board decided to no longer utilize Ainsley Shea but to shift all remaining CAP funds to apply towards digital and social media sources for more effective impact on consumer awareness. MAO board will work closely with Katie to help plan and execute future digital CAP marketing for the state of Minnesota.



Dr. **Brent Larson** (left with MSO Delegation) was elected as AAO President at the AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. We are thankful for all his efforts in serving our profession at the state, regional and national levels. The 2019 AAO Winter Meeting will be held in Marco Island, Florida from January 25-27. The meeting will focus on Sleep Apnea. The 2019 AAO Annual Session will be held in

Los Angeles from May 3-7. We hope you will plan to attend!

Congratulations to two Minnesota orthodontists who received awards at the 2018 AAO Annual Session in Washington, D.C. Dr. **Steve Litton** (right with Coach K and Cathy Snyder) was the recipient of the James E. Brophy Distinguished Service Award from the AAO and Dr. **Brent Larson** received the Louise Ada Jarabak Memorial International Teachers and Research Award from the AAOF.



After the 2018 AAO Annual Session, Drs. **Todd Thayer**, **Deb Lien**, **Nellie Kim-Weroha**, **Brent Larson**, **Cheryl Cermin**, **Arnie Hill** and **Hani Hamdan** were Minnesota orthodontists who participated in the AAOPAC Advocacy Conference and lobbying on Capitol Hill. They lobbied to address issues on various topics from easing the burden on student loan debt for higher education students to improving healthcare policies for families.

We would like to thank Dr. **Deb Lien** for serving on the AAO Council of Governmental Affairs on behalf of MSO and for providing her talents to support the AAOPAC for Minnesota. For our state, Deb currently serves on MAO Legislative and Regulatory Affairs Committee along with Drs. **Donna Stenberg** and **Heather Horton**. They have done an outstanding job on behalf of MAO tirelessly meeting with the Minnesota Board of Dentistry to approve changes for Licensed Dental Assistants expanded functions and

permitted duties. We encourage our members to attend the Minnesota Board of Dentistry meetings to have a voice as recognized specialist. We were fortunate to have the AAO legal counsel working with our state to help oversee the events at the dental board meetings.

MAO is proud to co-sponsor the MSO Annual Session in Bloomington, Minnesota at the Radisson Blu Hotel at the Mall of America on September 20-21, 2018. Our current MSO President, Dr. **Ryan VanLacken** from South Dakota, **Kristi Burmeister** and the Planning Committee members have organized a wonderful meeting. We hope you will consider joining us and bring your team to learn and mingle with colleagues at the meeting!

Please join us in congratulating our own, Dr. **Kevin Denis**, who has taken on the role as MSO President-elect this year. We are looking forward to his leadership as he takes on the role of MSO President at the MSO meeting in Bloomington. We invite you all to join us for the MSO meeting for his year in Branson, Missouri in the fall of 2019. Excellent speakers are expected!

2019 MAO Annual Winter Meeting will be held in early January. Details will be available this fall on our website. We encourage everyone to "Like" our Minnesota Orthodontic Association Facebook page and share the content to your practice and personal Facebook pages. We hope you will join in working together for our national consumer awareness efforts to protect patients from harm, especially now, more than ever.

Nellie Kim-Weroha nkimdds@gmail.com 507/288-4427 Fax 507/288-8947